Reviews

133 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2 3 4 5  
Ordering 
 
 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 11, 2017   0

The Wolverine, in all of its forms, really falls into the rec-utility segment where the RZR S, Teryx, Commander 800, and Pioneer 700 seem to play. The Wolverine is Yamaha’s primary focused trail side-by-side, and it has the “goods” to excel at exploring the outdoors via trails all across the Country, and, in many ways, is a cut above the competition. I have had a chance to do a full review and video review which you can find below, but I recently had the opportunity to climb aboard the 2017

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   February 01, 2017   0

   It's no secret that big horsepower equals big fun, but how much horsepower is too much horsepower? Is there such a thing as too much horsepower? The UTV industry is clearly under the impression that there is no limit to the horsepower that a vehicle can have, and this has never been more present than now with the horsepower wars continuing between Can-Am and Polaris. 

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   January 18, 2017   0

  Polaris jumped into the recreational side-by-side market with a very competent machine in the General. Released less than a year ago, this machine has sold well for the company and offered Polaris buyers an alternative to the pure sport RZR lineup and the pure utility Ranger lineup. It was no surprise that they were going to release a 4-seat General at some point in the near future, and it just so happens that 2017 was the model year they chose to do it. After garnering a significant amount

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   October 13, 2016   0

 The UTV industry is molding itself into a segment of the off-road market that resembles the automotive industry more and more, especially with each new model year. Manufacturers are unleashing refinements with yearly updates to each vehicle, and have you noticed how intense the horsepower wars are getting? There is some serious one-upmanship going on, and we have been taking notice…  

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   October 07, 2016   0

  I have been a fan of the ACE from the moment it was released. 2017 finds the ACE platform with many changes that seem to have brought this machine to a stable place in the Polaris lineup. The most notable of the changes for the 570 ACE is the addition of the SP model which has a dual a-arm front suspension and sway bars in the front and rear, making the ride so much more responsive and comfortable compared to the strut setup on the ACE and

 
5.0 (1)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   September 28, 2016   0

  At a glance, it is easy to notice the Xtreme Sport Sportsman models have had a facelift, coupled with a power upgrade on the 1000 model to the tune of 90 horsepower, making it the “King Of The Hill” in the utility ATV market.  I am a fan of the new aggressive look with hard lines on the Sportsman 1000 and 850 ATVs. The new “look” offers better sight-lines, steel reinforced racks, dual zone sculpted seat, LED tail lights, and integrated storage in both the front and rear. There is even a built-in cup/mobile phone holder,

 
5.0 (1)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 22, 2016   0

 There are so many things beyond just the power of an ATV which make an ATV special, but power seems to be what is on most riders minds when looking at an ATV today. The idea that you can own the biggest and best seems to drive us to buy the highest powered machines available. Monstrous power by itself can do more harm than good, similar to strapping a jet engine on a bicycle. Nobody wins in that scenario! Power must be merged with an ATV that has the ride, suspension, and other refinements to make that ATV a pleasure to own and ride.  Power must be pounded into the ATV in such a way that it is able

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 18, 2016   0

  There is a new kid in the ATV/UTV town, and it is one that needs to be reckoned with. Bad Boy Off Road has just released its first in a long line of side-by-sides called the Stampede, and, after riding it for a day in Moab, I found it to be a legit side-by-side that stands side-by-side with the other major players in the market. Bad Boy Off Road is owned by Textron Specialized vehicles, which owns other brands you have heard of including E-Z-GO, Cushman, TUG, McDonald Douglas, and Bad Boy Buggies to name a few. What this means is

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   May 15, 2016   0

  When Kawasaki asked what we wanted to test this time around, we had work on the mind! That lead to a Mule Pro showing up, and more specifically, a Mule-Pro FXT. This is not our first rodeo with the Mule Pro-FXT and its rather transformative feature. The redesigned Mule Pro was brought into the side-by-side/UTV world in 2015, complete with all new…everything. It has a torquey three-cylinder 812cc engine, a cab that holds 3 or 6 people depending

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   May 09, 2016   0

 We at ATV ESCAPE recently asked Yamaha for a side-by-side to help with the chores around our Homestead headquarters, since managing land is an ongoing challenge. Some of the chores include working fence lines, cutting trees and brush, moving said wood and brush, towing trailers, and hauling ourselves to the locations that need attention. Yamaha obliged us by sending a Viking EPS that fits the bill for this kind of work.

Glancing at the Viking conjures up images of hauling stuff

 
4.5 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 20, 2016   0

 It has been merely a year and half since Polaris rocked the ATV/side-by-side market by coming out with a completely new kind of vehicle in the Polaris ACE. Some applauded, some jeered, and some, including me, spent some quality time analyzing what the ACE was and what it wasn’t. After riding it, I became a believer that it was a hit. I still remember thinking it was one of the most fun rides I had ever had, after the first time I stepped into the cab and turned the key

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   March 18, 2016   0

 Owning property of any size means that you will eventually find yourself needing a tool that is mobile, versatile and easily functional. The fact that you will need to haul and tow or even drag material at some point around the property means you need a stable platform to do so and with plenty of power. This is where the newest and potentially the longest machine in the Can-Am Outlander line comes into play. The new 2016 Can-Am Outlander 6X6 is now ready for the shed space you have been reserving for just such a tool! We had a chance

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   February 18, 2016   0

With every new demo unit comes the need to outfit that unit with the “essentials” for that type of machine. The first of the “essentials” for any side-by-side is a roof to keep the sun or rain from turning this pale guy into a tomato or a wet dog. So when our RZR demo arrived, I started looking around for a roof to adorn the roll cage, and after a little research an EMP roof was what I wanted. There is a lot to like

 
4.0 (2)
the staffthe staff   January 20, 2016   0

One of the top critical accessories that fall into the “must have” category is a good winch. A winch can mean the difference between returning to camp or not, so we generally put one on every machine we get. There is nothing like burying your machine in the mud somewhere off in the sunset, hitting the switch

 
5.0 (3)
the staffthe staff   January 13, 2016   0

Two-hundred fifty miles and a set of 4-point seat belt harnesses – what is the significance of these items? It just so happens that these are precisely what I needed in order to fully evaluate the capabilities of our 2016 Polaris RZR XP Turbo. Indeed, a full evaluation of such a capable machine takes longer than just a typical 25 miles and a standard seat belt. Just like the other sport UTV’s that have been released lately, the RZR XP Turbo is a machine that gives new life to the mantra, “go anywhere and do anything”. 

 
5.0 (2)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 23, 2015   0

Yamaha’s big announcement about the YXZ1000R on September 1st captured the industry’s attention, imagination, and heart, similar to a kid on Christmas Eve waiting to unwrap the big gift under the tree.  Yamaha has always been a sport company, and the unveiling of the YXZ1000R once again reminded the world that they do “sport” with the best of them. What was clear at the unveiling was the different pure sport experience that was in store for drivers of this new pure sport side-by-side. With a 5-speed manual transmission

 

 
5.0 (3)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 17, 2015   0

Can-Am not only likes to play any given segment of the ATV and side-by-side market, but also wants to dominate those segments. Can-Am chooses carefully what segment it wants to dominate next, and now it has set its sights on the UTV-Rec segment, with the introduction of the 2016 Can-Am Defender. Though not the sexiest side of the side-by-side market

 
5.0 (2)
the staffthe staff   December 02, 2015   0

One of the most anticipated side-by-sides ever, we had the opportunity to drive it and do a VIDEO review. What a beast.

 

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   August 05, 2015   0

Ride along with us as we take the brand new 2016 Yamaha Grizzly out for a ride to see what we think about the number one selling big bore ATV.

 

 
5.0 (6)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   June 01, 2015   2

Honda has come out swinging for 2015 with a plethora of updated and refined machines, and ,  just like that, Honda jumps into the pack of recreational trail riding ATVs. One of these BIG updates comes in the form of the 2015 Honda Foreman Rubicon, and the word “update” doesn’t do the Foreman Rubicon any kind of justice. It is completely and utterly new, 

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 06, 2015   0

The 2016 Yamaha Wolverine R-Spec is a different animal, pardon the unintended, yet perfect pun. There is nothing out there quite like it, in its own category, or in any other side-by-side category. The masses have been anxiously awaiting Yamaha’s entrance into the sport/recreation segment of the side-by-side, and with the Wolverine’s unveiling, the wait is over.  Some have squawked at the fact the Wolverine sports a 700 class motor, but having

 
5.0 (4)
the staffthe staff   May 06, 2015   0

Our ATV ESCAPE VIDEO review of the brand new 2016 Yamaha Wolverine R-Spec side-by-side

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   March 24, 2015   1

Do you smell that, that new ATV smell? That new smell in the air is the brand new Arctic Cat XR ATV family, which is the latest and greatest addition to the Arctic Cat lineup. 2015 is proving to be a banner year for Arctic Cat as it delivers updates to current product families as well as breaking ground on new ones, and it is popping out the “new” the way ……. Arctic Cat shot me an email to come join them for a day of seat time aboard this new XR ATV in Moab, Utah,

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   October 06, 2014   0

I am not a huge fan of dust on my face. Come to think of it, I am not a huge fan of rain hitting me in the face either, or soaking me through where I come out looking like a labrador retriever after having taken a dip in the pool. Even if my helmet is planted firmly on my head, it seems like rain drops have a GPS targeting system so they can hit directly on my nose at 40 mph, and that hurts. In the cold part of the Winter,

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   July 03, 2014   0

Kawasaki has been busy…very busy. A mere year after it released a completely new Teryx and Teryx4, Kawasaki takes the cover off a brand new version of none other than its UTV flagship, the Kawasaki Mule, with the introduction of the Mule Pro-FXT. Completely redesigned, the Mule Pro-FXT is not only built to be a workaholic, but also quite the “playaholic” to boot. I just returned from the unveiling of this new Mule with the pomp and circumstance deserved

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 15, 2014   0

In a field of many, many side-by-sides and UTVs, with more being added constantly, what can be done to set a machine apart from the ever-growing pack? One way is to take an already proven side-by-side and throw as many goodies as possible at it right off the factory floor. Enter the Can-Am Commander Limited. Can-Am has set this Commander apart by creating a model outfitted with all the aftermarket upgrades owners seem to want to put

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   March 19, 2014   1

Yamaha unveiled the successor to the Rhino a few months back, and I got the invite to join them for the press introduction up in Wyoming.  At first I wondered about why in the world Yamaha would pick such a remote location for a press intro. Nevertheless, I packed my bags and headed to the airport for a 5:45 AM flight.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   March 14, 2014   0

Years have passed since I began to dream about hitting the Paiute ATV Trail in Utah, so when Kawasaki invited ATVESCAPE to join them for the introduction of the new and improved 2014 Teryx4, I jumped at the chance to tackle the trail and the machine.  I have heard for years how amazing the riding was along the Paiute Trail, with miles upon miles of trails to explore without a person in sight, and that is my kind of riding. Little did I know what an amazing adventure lay ahead of me.

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   March 05, 2014   0

Our friends over at DirtTrax TV spend some quality time on the beast of a machine Polaris RZR XP 1000, and what a machine it is. The RZR XP 1000 is pound-for-pound the most powerful side-by-side on the market with 107 horsepower. The suspension travel on the RZR XP 1000 is epic, and having ridden it for a few minutes ourselves,

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   February 24, 2014   0

This is a roundup of videos and reviews of the new Polaris Sportsman ACE ATV from around the industry. Get the latest scoop on all things Sportsman ACE right here on ATVESCAPE.com.

133 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2 3 4 5  
 

Featured Articles

2017-wolverine-r-spec-review-a-recreation-side-by-side-that-covers-all-the-basesThe Wolverine, in all of its forms, really falls into the rec-utility segment where the RZR S, Teryx,...
review-taming-the-2017-polaris-rzr-xp-turbo-the-king-of-horsepower-again   It's no secret that big horsepower equals big fun, but how much horsepower is too much horsepower? Is...
2017-general-4-review-you-can-take-a-group-ride  Polaris jumped into the recreational side-by-side market with a very competent machine in the General....
maverick-x3-review-a-maverick-times-at-least-3 The UTV industry is molding itself into a segment of the off-road market that resembles the automotive...
polaris-sportsman-xp-1000-eps-le-review There are so many things beyond just the power of an ATV which make an ATV special, but power seems to...