ATV ESCAPE Reviews

ATV ESCAPE Reviews

35 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 22, 2016   0

 There are so many things beyond just the power of an ATV which make an ATV special, but power seems to be what is on most riders minds when looking at an ATV today. The idea that you can own the biggest and best seems to drive us to buy the highest powered machines available. Monstrous power by itself can do more harm than good, similar to strapping a jet engine on a bicycle. Nobody wins in that scenario! Power must be merged with an ATV that has the ride, suspension, and other refinements to make that ATV a pleasure to own and ride.  Power must be pounded into the ATV in such a way that it is able

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 18, 2016   0

  There is a new kid in the ATV/UTV town, and it is one that needs to be reckoned with. Bad Boy Off Road has just released its first in a long line of side-by-sides called the Stampede, and, after riding it for a day in Moab, I found it to be a legit side-by-side that stands side-by-side with the other major players in the market. Bad Boy Off Road is owned by Textron Specialized vehicles, which owns other brands you have heard of including E-Z-GO, Cushman, TUG, McDonald Douglas, and Bad Boy Buggies to name a few. What this means is

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   May 15, 2016   0

  When Kawasaki asked what we wanted to test this time around, we had work on the mind! That lead to a Mule Pro showing up, and more specifically, a Mule-Pro FXT. This is not our first rodeo with the Mule Pro-FXT and its rather transformative feature. The redesigned Mule Pro was brought into the side-by-side/UTV world in 2015, complete with all new…everything. It has a torquey three-cylinder 812cc engine, a cab that holds 3 or 6 people depending

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   May 09, 2016   0

 We at ATV ESCAPE recently asked Yamaha for a side-by-side to help with the chores around our Homestead headquarters, since managing land is an ongoing challenge. Some of the chores include working fence lines, cutting trees and brush, moving said wood and brush, towing trailers, and hauling ourselves to the locations that need attention. Yamaha obliged us by sending a Viking EPS that fits the bill for this kind of work.

Glancing at the Viking conjures up images of hauling stuff

 
5.0 (1)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 20, 2016   0

 It has been merely a year and half since Polaris rocked the ATV/side-by-side market by coming out with a completely new kind of vehicle in the Polaris ACE. Some applauded, some jeered, and some, including me, spent some quality time analyzing what the ACE was and what it wasn’t. After riding it, I became a believer that it was a hit. I still remember thinking it was one of the most fun rides I had ever had, after the first time I stepped into the cab and turned the key

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   March 18, 2016   0

 Owning property of any size means that you will eventually find yourself needing a tool that is mobile, versatile and easily functional. The fact that you will need to haul and tow or even drag material at some point around the property means you need a stable platform to do so and with plenty of power. This is where the newest and potentially the longest machine in the Can-Am Outlander line comes into play. The new 2016 Can-Am Outlander 6X6 is now ready for the shed space you have been reserving for just such a tool! We had a chance

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   February 18, 2016   0

With every new demo unit comes the need to outfit that unit with the “essentials” for that type of machine. The first of the “essentials” for any side-by-side is a roof to keep the sun or rain from turning this pale guy into a tomato or a wet dog. So when our RZR demo arrived, I started looking around for a roof to adorn the roll cage, and after a little research an EMP roof was what I wanted. There is a lot to like

 
4.0 (2)
the staffthe staff   January 20, 2016   0

One of the top critical accessories that fall into the “must have” category is a good winch. A winch can mean the difference between returning to camp or not, so we generally put one on every machine we get. There is nothing like burying your machine in the mud somewhere off in the sunset, hitting the switch

 
5.0 (3)
the staffthe staff   January 13, 2016   0

Two-hundred fifty miles and a set of 4-point seat belt harnesses – what is the significance of these items? It just so happens that these are precisely what I needed in order to fully evaluate the capabilities of our 2016 Polaris RZR XP Turbo. Indeed, a full evaluation of such a capable machine takes longer than just a typical 25 miles and a standard seat belt. Just like the other sport UTV’s that have been released lately, the RZR XP Turbo is a machine that gives new life to the mantra, “go anywhere and do anything”. 

 
5.0 (2)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 23, 2015   0

Yamaha’s big announcement about the YXZ1000R on September 1st captured the industry’s attention, imagination, and heart, similar to a kid on Christmas Eve waiting to unwrap the big gift under the tree.  Yamaha has always been a sport company, and the unveiling of the YXZ1000R once again reminded the world that they do “sport” with the best of them. What was clear at the unveiling was the different pure sport experience that was in store for drivers of this new pure sport side-by-side. With a 5-speed manual transmission

 

 
5.0 (3)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 17, 2015   0

Can-Am not only likes to play any given segment of the ATV and side-by-side market, but also wants to dominate those segments. Can-Am chooses carefully what segment it wants to dominate next, and now it has set its sights on the UTV-Rec segment, with the introduction of the 2016 Can-Am Defender. Though not the sexiest side of the side-by-side market

 
5.0 (2)
the staffthe staff   December 02, 2015   0

One of the most anticipated side-by-sides ever, we had the opportunity to drive it and do a VIDEO review. What a beast.

 

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   August 05, 2015   0

Ride along with us as we take the brand new 2016 Yamaha Grizzly out for a ride to see what we think about the number one selling big bore ATV.

 

 
5.0 (6)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   June 01, 2015   2

Honda has come out swinging for 2015 with a plethora of updated and refined machines, and ,  just like that, Honda jumps into the pack of recreational trail riding ATVs. One of these BIG updates comes in the form of the 2015 Honda Foreman Rubicon, and the word “update” doesn’t do the Foreman Rubicon any kind of justice. It is completely and utterly new, 

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 06, 2015   0

The 2016 Yamaha Wolverine R-Spec is a different animal, pardon the unintended, yet perfect pun. There is nothing out there quite like it, in its own category, or in any other side-by-side category. The masses have been anxiously awaiting Yamaha’s entrance into the sport/recreation segment of the side-by-side, and with the Wolverine’s unveiling, the wait is over.  Some have squawked at the fact the Wolverine sports a 700 class motor, but having

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   March 24, 2015   1

Do you smell that, that new ATV smell? That new smell in the air is the brand new Arctic Cat XR ATV family, which is the latest and greatest addition to the Arctic Cat lineup. 2015 is proving to be a banner year for Arctic Cat as it delivers updates to current product families as well as breaking ground on new ones, and it is popping out the “new” the way ……. Arctic Cat shot me an email to come join them for a day of seat time aboard this new XR ATV in Moab, Utah,

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   July 03, 2014   0

Kawasaki has been busy…very busy. A mere year after it released a completely new Teryx and Teryx4, Kawasaki takes the cover off a brand new version of none other than its UTV flagship, the Kawasaki Mule, with the introduction of the Mule Pro-FXT. Completely redesigned, the Mule Pro-FXT is not only built to be a workaholic, but also quite the “playaholic” to boot. I just returned from the unveiling of this new Mule with the pomp and circumstance deserved

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 15, 2014   0

In a field of many, many side-by-sides and UTVs, with more being added constantly, what can be done to set a machine apart from the ever-growing pack? One way is to take an already proven side-by-side and throw as many goodies as possible at it right off the factory floor. Enter the Can-Am Commander Limited. Can-Am has set this Commander apart by creating a model outfitted with all the aftermarket upgrades owners seem to want to put

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   March 14, 2014   0

Years have passed since I began to dream about hitting the Paiute ATV Trail in Utah, so when Kawasaki invited ATVESCAPE to join them for the introduction of the new and improved 2014 Teryx4, I jumped at the chance to tackle the trail and the machine.  I have heard for years how amazing the riding was along the Paiute Trail, with miles upon miles of trails to explore without a person in sight, and that is my kind of riding. Little did I know what an amazing adventure lay ahead of me.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   February 12, 2014   0

Imagine the opportunity to test a new side-by-side through tight trails, roads, mud holes, hill climbs, and snow, all on one great adventure. All of that and more awaited us, as members of the media had the opportunity to test out the 2014 Teryx from Kawasaki, at the Hatfield McCoy trail system in West Virginia. Any time Kawasaki gives me a shout, I know there is much fun to be had in my near future, so I knew when that email came into my inbox, I was off for an adventure.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   February 05, 2014   0

Not too long ago, Polaris extended an invitation to ATVESCAPE.com to head out to Big Rock Park in Pennsylvania, to spend some quality time with several of the 2014 models including the RZR XP 1000. Why in the world would we say "no" to that opportunity?  So off we went. We spent the day investigating and riding the new Sportsman 570, Ranger Crew 900 XP, Scrambler 850, Ranger 570, and of course, the RZR XP 1000. To say we have drooled over time aboard that machine would be an understatement.

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   January 29, 2014   0

Ever since Polaris decided they should shake up the Side-X-Side market with their first RZR sport UTV, owner’s have been flocking to their local dealers in search for the latest and greatest RZR Side-X-Side to roll out of Polaris’ factory door. Why have these RZR’s become so popular? Simply put – because of their rider-focused design.

Recently, we had the chance to sample this rider-focused design in the undeniably huge dunes of Glamis. The sand dunes here are infamous for their giant bowls, steep razor backs, and nasty witch’s eyes that come out of nowhere.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   January 27, 2014   0

“What is it?” was the question asked by all of us as we pulled up to the Hidden Falls riding area in Marble Falls, TX, followed by a few “ooh’s and aah’s” as we caught our first glances at the brand new Polaris Sportsman ACE. Looking at an ATV with a steering wheel and bucket seat resulted in the word “interesting” coming from my mouth, as I exited the bus and walked up to the Polaris ACE. My mind raced as I tried to come to grips with what I was looking at. Was it an ATV, UTV, or something completely different? All of us media folks stared at the ACE wondering what to make of it. The ACE is nothing like I had ever seen, and

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   June 11, 2013   0

Since we at ATVESCAPE saw the announcement of the introduction of the new Can-Am Maverick back in September, we have held our breath for the opportunity to get behind the wheel of the newest beast from Can-Am. We put together a first look article with a complete breakdown of everything we knew about this new machine. The thing that struck us then and continues to strike us today is 101 horsepower. That is an amazing amount of horses powering a side-by-side. Over the last few months our friend Jon Crowley over at UTVGuide.net allowed us to share his review of the Can-Am Maverick, which included his initial impressions of it.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 16, 2013   2

We at ATVESCAPE have the privilege of riding and demoing many different ATVs and UTVs, and that is one of the best parts of what we do here. We have now ridden Polaris, Can-Am, Kawasaki, and some others, but we have never had the opportunity to ride any Yamahas, until last month. None of us at ATVESCAPE have had any real “seat time” on a Yamaha, but know Yamaha machines are great machines, which have a loyal following. So this year

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 19, 2013   1

People use their ATVs for several different things. Many of us simply use our ATVs for the purpose of FUN, which is the greatest reason. ATVs can take us on adventures like no other vehicle on the planet, and allow us the ability to see and experience things we cannot experience any other way. Whether we hit the trail for adventure or hit the mud hole for adventure, fun is the end result. 

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   August 02, 2012   2

What do you get when you have desert trails, mountainous terrain, ninety-degree weather, and two Kawasaki Brute Force ATVs? What you get is a whole lot of fun along with the ability to experience what Kawasaki brings to the table in the ATV market. Kawasaki proves it doesn’t rest on its laurels when it comes to improving its Brute Force lineup year after year, and in the year 2012 more power and power steering lead the list of innovations that standout on the Brute Force 750i 4x4 EPS.

 
4.0 (16)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 11, 2012   2

So this year at the 2012 High Lifter Mud Nationals, we at ATVESCAPE.COM had the opportunity to get behind the wheel of two different Can-Am Commander models including the Commander 1000 X and Commander 1000 Limited. After a little seat time, we can see the Can-Am Commander is a beast to be reckoned with and in summary: WE LOVE IT!

 
5.0 (8)
the staffthe staff   February 17, 2012   0

So here is the question: Can an ATV-pickup with a 50" width, steering wheel, 760cc's of power, a roll cage, foot pedals, a glove box , and seats next to each other offer as much fun and capability as I have come to expect from an ATV? Now this our first time at ATVESCAPE.COM to get into the cockpit of a UTV for a test, and we had no idea what to expect. Having driven a Kawasaki Mule, some golf carts, and lots of ATVs and trucks, we were really looking forward to getting behind the wheel of the RZR (and have been since it came out in 2008).

 
0.0 (0)
Texas RedTexas Red   November 19, 2010   2

With all the continued hype about the completely new Polaris Sportsman XP series as being the best ATV yet, we at ATVESCAPE wanted to have the chance to put some miles on another one. Based upon our test of the 2009 Sportsman XP 850 {include_title_only_href 423}, we concluded the hype and great reviews of the Polaris XP series was earned and deserved! The two words we used to describe the new Sportsman XP series after 600 miles on one in 10 days were “refined” and “smooth”. We expected no less of the newest test model from Polaris.

35 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
 

Featured Articles

polaris-sportsman-xp-1000-eps-le-review There are so many things beyond just the power of an ATV which make an ATV special, but power seems to...
bad-boy-off-road-stampede-900-4x4-review-there-is-a-new-side-by-side-in-town  There is a new kid in the ATV/UTV town, and it is one that needs to be reckoned with. Bad Boy Off Road...
dumont-dunes-off-highway-vehicle-area-ride-guide Dumont Dunes: It’s the ONE sand dune location that has always seemed to elude me. Growing up, I have...
2016-polaris-ace-900-sp-review-bring-the-power It has been merely a year and half since Polaris rocked the ATV/side-by-side market by coming out with...
2015-can-am-outlander-6x6-xt-review-earth-moving-capability-on-6-wheels Owning property of any size means that you will eventually find yourself needing a tool that is mobile,...