Download the Free

ATVESCAPE Mobile Apps

ATVESCAPE iPhone AppATVESCAPE Android App

ATVESCAPE AppFacebook Profile  ATVESCAPE On Twitter  ATVESCAPE On YouTube

Richland Furnace State Forest All Purpose Vehicle Area Featured

Address
Telephone
(740) 774-1596
Land
Public
Richland Furnace State Forest
Vehicles
ATV Dirt Bike UTV
Terrain
General Trail Hills Mud Bog
Skill Level
Easy Intermediate Experienced
Amenities
Pets
Hours
Apr 1 - Nov 30: 1/2 hr before sunrise - 1/2 hr after sunset. Closed Dec 1 - Mar 30.
Riding Requirements
Trail bikes, motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles are the only vehicles permitted in the designated area. Each vehicle shall display a valid APV or highway license. You should bring a copy of your registration with you (tip - put it in a waterproof bag and store it under your seat with your tool kit). APV's shall be operated only within the designated area. No person shall operate an APV having a width greater than 50 inches or possessing more than 40 horsepower. The APV area is open for riding from one-half hour before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset. All transport vehicles and trailers should be parked in the designated parking area for safety concerns. Maximum speed limits are 5 mph in the parking area and 25 mph on the trails. At no time shall an APV be operated at a speed greater than that necessary to stop the vehicle in the assured clear distance. All operators shall wear protective headgear and eye protection. All operators shall have a valid, current motor vehicle operator's license, except that minors between the ages of 12 and 16 may operate an APV if accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian 18 years of age or older. Anyone under the age of 12 is prohibited from riding an APV. All vehicles shall be equipped with adequate brakes, mufflers, and spark arrestors. No person who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs of abuse shall operate an APV. No person shall operate an APV in such a manner as to willfully damage or destroy vegetation and trails, or for the purpose of chasing, capturing or killing wildlife. Operators of APV's shall not carry or transport any firearms or other weapons that are not unloaded and securely encased. No APV shall be used to carry more passengers than the vehicle was designed to carry (All-terrain vehicles are designed to carry only the operator). No races or contests are permitted in the APV area. Operators must report any accidents to the officer in charge or to the forest headquarters (740-774-1596 extension 2) within 24 hours. This is in addition to the reports necessary to be made to the local law enforcement authorities.

Are out of state trail permits honored? No. Ohio temporary registrations are required to ride all Ohio APV areas. For example, Michigan ORV stickers are not honored in Ohio. APV registrations can be obtained through the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

What are the rules and regulations for the forest? You will need to follow all the forest rules. This is the Division of Forestry's general visitation guidelines.

Are there specific rules and regulations for the riding area? Yes. They are listed below:

  1. Trail bikes, motorcycles and all-terrain vehicles are the only vehicles permitted in the designated area. Each vehicle shall display a valid APV or highway license. You should bring a copy of your registration with you (tip - put it in a waterproof bag and store it under your seat with your tool kit).
  2. APV's shall be operated only within the designated area.
  3. No person shall operate an APV having a width greater than 50 inches or possessing more than 40 horsepower.
  4. The APV area is open for riding from one-half hour before sunrise until one-half hour after sunset. All transport vehicles and trailers should be parked in the designated parking area for safety concerns.
  5. Maximum speed limits are 5 mph in the parking area and 25 mph on the trails. At no time shall an APV be operated at a speed greater than that necessary to stop the vehicle in the assured clear distance.
  6. All operators shall wear protective headgear and eye protection.
  7. All operators shall have a valid, current motor vehicle operator's license, except that minors between the ages of 12 and 16 may operate an APV if accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian 18 years of age or older. Anyone under the age of 12 is prohibited from riding an APV.
  8. All vehicles shall be equipped with adequate brakes, mufflers, and spark arrestors.
  9. No person who is under the influence of alcohol or drugs of abuse shall operate an APV.
  10. No person shall operate an APV in such a manner as to willfully damage or destroy vegetation and trails, or for the purpose of chasing, capturing or killing wildlife.
  11. Operators of APV's shall not carry or transport any firearms or other weapons that are not unloaded and securely encased.
  12. No APV shall be used to carry more passengers than the vehicle was designed to carry (All-terrain vehicles are designed to carry only the operator).
  13. No races or contests are permitted in the APV area.
  14. Operators must report any accidents to the officer in charge or to the forest headquarters (740-774-1596 extension 2) within 24 hours. This is in addition to the reports necessary to be made to the local law enforcement authorities.

Can I camp there? There is no available camping, although Lake Alma State Park offers camping.

What about other lodging that is available in the area? There are several hotels in Jackson and McArthur.

What vehicles are allowed there? You can ride 3-wheelers, 4-wheelers, trail bikes (dual sport, motocross, etc.) and mountain bikes. No vehicle can be wider than 50 inches. Jeeps, 4-wheel drive trucks, and similar vehicles are not allowed.

Can my children ride with me? Your children must be 12 years of age or older. They are not allowed to ride with you on the same APV unless the manufacturer designs the APV to carry more than one person. They must operate their own vehicle. They must ride with you or a legal guardian. They can not ride by themselves.

Do I need a driver's license? You need a valid driver's license to be able to ride there. You must also have insurance as required by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. You have to have your machine registered.

How do I get my APV registered? You need to get a registration from the Bureau of Motor Vehicles. In order to get it you must have a title. You should have a title if you purchased your vehicle after July 1, 1999. Dealers are required to provide you with a title if you purchased your APV after July 1, 1999. If you do not have a title, you must get one before you can register it. Contact your local Bureau of Motor Vehicles for the procedure to obtain a title.

I'm not from Ohio; can I still ride there? You must obtain a non resident 15-day registration from the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles.

I have a motorcycle with a license plate. Do I need to get an APV registration too? You do not need to get an APV registration if your motorcycle is properly licensed.

I have a Mountain Bike. Do I need to get an APV registration? You do not need a registration for a mountain bike.




Average user rating from: 1 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
1.2
Hill Climbs 
 
1.0  (1)
Mud 
 
1.0  (1)
Water 
 
1.0  (1)
Trail Miles 
 
1.0  (1)
Terrain Variety 
 
2.0  (1)
Scenery 
 
1.0  (1)
Ratings (the higher the better)
Hill Climbs*
Mud*
Water*
Trail Miles*
Terrain Variety*
Scenery*
Trails & Tracks
    Please enter the security code.
 
 
Richland Furnace State Forest All Purpose Vehicle Area 2014-06-22 23:04:00 Ron
Overall rating 
 
1.2
Hill Climbs 
 
1.0
Mud 
 
1.0
Water 
 
1.0
Trail Miles 
 
1.0
Terrain Variety 
 
2.0
Scenery 
 
1.0
ktmridder Reviewed by ktmridder    June 22, 2014
Top 500 Reviewer  -   View all my reviews
Was this review helpful to you? 
00
Report this review
 
Map



Advanced Search

Local Riding Scene

Postcode:           
Choose a Radius
mi km
Find Local Riding Destinations and Dealers

600+ Places to Ride

in the U.S.

ATVESCSAPE APP

Online Users

0 users and 443 guests online