UTV Reviews

24 results - showing 1 - 24  
 
Ordering 
 
 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 13, 2017   0

  One of the absolute best parts of experiencing the outdoors, trail riding, and adventure is including friends and family. Taking more than one passenger along for the ride is becoming more and more of an issue as more and more riders have families that include kids. In a world that seems to revolve around small screens, getting out and seeing 

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   October 17, 2017   0

   I had the opportunity to put some miles on Can-Am's first 50-inch side-by-side the Maverick Trail. We put together this video review highlighting the Maverick Trail's many good points and a couple which could use some tweaking. The Maverick Trail might just be the best 50-inch side-by-side on the market with an incredibly comfortable ride and comfortable interior.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   September 07, 2017   0

   ATV ESCAPE brings you a review video of the brand new 2018 Polaris XP Turbo DYNAMIX Edition including the DYNAMIX Active Suspension technology with RIDE COMMAND that reads the terrain 200 times per second and adjust the dampening of the shocks according to the terrain.  

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 11, 2017   0

The Wolverine, in all of its forms, really falls into the rec-utility segment where the RZR S, Teryx, Commander 800, and Pioneer 700 seem to play. The Wolverine is Yamaha’s primary focused trail side-by-side, and it has the “goods” to excel at exploring the outdoors via trails all across the Country, and, in many ways, is a cut above the competition. I have had a chance to do a full review and video review which you can find below, but I recently had the opportunity to climb aboard the 2017

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   February 01, 2017   0

   It's no secret that big horsepower equals big fun, but how much horsepower is too much horsepower? Is there such a thing as too much horsepower? The UTV industry is clearly under the impression that there is no limit to the horsepower that a vehicle can have, and this has never been more present than now with the horsepower wars continuing between Can-Am and Polaris. 

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   January 18, 2017   0

  Polaris jumped into the recreational side-by-side market with a very competent machine in the General. Released less than a year ago, this machine has sold well for the company and offered Polaris buyers an alternative to the pure sport RZR lineup and the pure utility Ranger lineup. It was no surprise that they were going to release a 4-seat General at some point in the near future, and it just so happens that 2017 was the model year they chose to do it. After garnering a significant amount

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   October 13, 2016   0

 The UTV industry is molding itself into a segment of the off-road market that resembles the automotive industry more and more, especially with each new model year. Manufacturers are unleashing refinements with yearly updates to each vehicle, and have you noticed how intense the horsepower wars are getting? There is some serious one-upmanship going on, and we have been taking notice…  

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 18, 2016   0

  There is a new kid in the ATV/UTV town, and it is one that needs to be reckoned with. Bad Boy Off Road has just released its first in a long line of side-by-sides called the Stampede, and, after riding it for a day in Moab, I found it to be a legit side-by-side that stands side-by-side with the other major players in the market. Bad Boy Off Road is owned by Textron Specialized vehicles, which owns other brands you have heard of including E-Z-GO, Cushman, TUG, McDonald Douglas, and Bad Boy Buggies to name a few. What this means is

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   May 15, 2016   0

  When Kawasaki asked what we wanted to test this time around, we had work on the mind! That lead to a Mule Pro showing up, and more specifically, a Mule-Pro FXT. This is not our first rodeo with the Mule Pro-FXT and its rather transformative feature. The redesigned Mule Pro was brought into the side-by-side/UTV world in 2015, complete with all new…everything. It has a torquey three-cylinder 812cc engine, a cab that holds 3 or 6 people depending

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   May 09, 2016   0

 We at ATV ESCAPE recently asked Yamaha for a side-by-side to help with the chores around our Homestead headquarters, since managing land is an ongoing challenge. Some of the chores include working fence lines, cutting trees and brush, moving said wood and brush, towing trailers, and hauling ourselves to the locations that need attention. Yamaha obliged us by sending a Viking EPS that fits the bill for this kind of work.

Glancing at the Viking conjures up images of hauling stuff

 
5.0 (3)
the staffthe staff   January 13, 2016   0

Two-hundred fifty miles and a set of 4-point seat belt harnesses – what is the significance of these items? It just so happens that these are precisely what I needed in order to fully evaluate the capabilities of our 2016 Polaris RZR XP Turbo. Indeed, a full evaluation of such a capable machine takes longer than just a typical 25 miles and a standard seat belt. Just like the other sport UTV’s that have been released lately, the RZR XP Turbo is a machine that gives new life to the mantra, “go anywhere and do anything”. 

 
5.0 (2)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 23, 2015   0

Yamaha’s big announcement about the YXZ1000R on September 1st captured the industry’s attention, imagination, and heart, similar to a kid on Christmas Eve waiting to unwrap the big gift under the tree.  Yamaha has always been a sport company, and the unveiling of the YXZ1000R once again reminded the world that they do “sport” with the best of them. What was clear at the unveiling was the different pure sport experience that was in store for drivers of this new pure sport side-by-side. With a 5-speed manual transmission

 

 
5.0 (3)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 17, 2015   0

Can-Am not only likes to play any given segment of the ATV and side-by-side market, but also wants to dominate those segments. Can-Am chooses carefully what segment it wants to dominate next, and now it has set its sights on the UTV-Rec segment, with the introduction of the 2016 Can-Am Defender. Though not the sexiest side of the side-by-side market

 
5.0 (2)
the staffthe staff   December 02, 2015   0

One of the most anticipated side-by-sides ever, we had the opportunity to drive it and do a VIDEO review. What a beast.

 

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 06, 2015   0

The 2016 Yamaha Wolverine R-Spec is a different animal, pardon the unintended, yet perfect pun. There is nothing out there quite like it, in its own category, or in any other side-by-side category. The masses have been anxiously awaiting Yamaha’s entrance into the sport/recreation segment of the side-by-side, and with the Wolverine’s unveiling, the wait is over.  Some have squawked at the fact the Wolverine sports a 700 class motor, but having

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   July 03, 2014   0

Kawasaki has been busy…very busy. A mere year after it released a completely new Teryx and Teryx4, Kawasaki takes the cover off a brand new version of none other than its UTV flagship, the Kawasaki Mule, with the introduction of the Mule Pro-FXT. Completely redesigned, the Mule Pro-FXT is not only built to be a workaholic, but also quite the “playaholic” to boot. I just returned from the unveiling of this new Mule with the pomp and circumstance deserved

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 15, 2014   0

In a field of many, many side-by-sides and UTVs, with more being added constantly, what can be done to set a machine apart from the ever-growing pack? One way is to take an already proven side-by-side and throw as many goodies as possible at it right off the factory floor. Enter the Can-Am Commander Limited. Can-Am has set this Commander apart by creating a model outfitted with all the aftermarket upgrades owners seem to want to put

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   March 14, 2014   0

Years have passed since I began to dream about hitting the Paiute ATV Trail in Utah, so when Kawasaki invited ATVESCAPE to join them for the introduction of the new and improved 2014 Teryx4, I jumped at the chance to tackle the trail and the machine.  I have heard for years how amazing the riding was along the Paiute Trail, with miles upon miles of trails to explore without a person in sight, and that is my kind of riding. Little did I know what an amazing adventure lay ahead of me.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   February 12, 2014   0

Imagine the opportunity to test a new side-by-side through tight trails, roads, mud holes, hill climbs, and snow, all on one great adventure. All of that and more awaited us, as members of the media had the opportunity to test out the 2014 Teryx from Kawasaki, at the Hatfield McCoy trail system in West Virginia. Any time Kawasaki gives me a shout, I know there is much fun to be had in my near future, so I knew when that email came into my inbox, I was off for an adventure.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   February 05, 2014   0

Not too long ago, Polaris extended an invitation to ATVESCAPE.com to head out to Big Rock Park in Pennsylvania, to spend some quality time with several of the 2014 models including the RZR XP 1000. Why in the world would we say "no" to that opportunity?  So off we went. We spent the day investigating and riding the new Sportsman 570, Ranger Crew 900 XP, Scrambler 850, Ranger 570, and of course, the RZR XP 1000. To say we have drooled over time aboard that machine would be an understatement.

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   January 29, 2014   0

Ever since Polaris decided they should shake up the Side-X-Side market with their first RZR sport UTV, owner’s have been flocking to their local dealers in search for the latest and greatest RZR Side-X-Side to roll out of Polaris’ factory door. Why have these RZR’s become so popular? Simply put – because of their rider-focused design.

Recently, we had the chance to sample this rider-focused design in the undeniably huge dunes of Glamis. The sand dunes here are infamous for their giant bowls, steep razor backs, and nasty witch’s eyes that come out of nowhere.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   June 11, 2013   0

Since we at ATVESCAPE saw the announcement of the introduction of the new Can-Am Maverick back in September, we have held our breath for the opportunity to get behind the wheel of the newest beast from Can-Am. We put together a first look article with a complete breakdown of everything we knew about this new machine. The thing that struck us then and continues to strike us today is 101 horsepower. That is an amazing amount of horses powering a side-by-side. Over the last few months our friend Jon Crowley over at UTVGuide.net allowed us to share his review of the Can-Am Maverick, which included his initial impressions of it.

 
4.0 (16)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 11, 2012   2

So this year at the 2012 High Lifter Mud Nationals, we at ATVESCAPE.COM had the opportunity to get behind the wheel of two different Can-Am Commander models including the Commander 1000 X and Commander 1000 Limited. After a little seat time, we can see the Can-Am Commander is a beast to be reckoned with and in summary: WE LOVE IT!

 
5.0 (8)
the staffthe staff   February 17, 2012   0

So here is the question: Can an ATV-pickup with a 50" width, steering wheel, 760cc's of power, a roll cage, foot pedals, a glove box , and seats next to each other offer as much fun and capability as I have come to expect from an ATV? Now this our first time at ATVESCAPE.COM to get into the cockpit of a UTV for a test, and we had no idea what to expect. Having driven a Kawasaki Mule, some golf carts, and lots of ATVs and trucks, we were really looking forward to getting behind the wheel of the RZR (and have been since it came out in 2008).

24 results - showing 1 - 24  
 
 

Featured Articles

2017-wolverine-r-spec-review-a-recreation-side-by-side-that-covers-all-the-basesThe Wolverine, in all of its forms, really falls into the rec-utility segment where the RZR S, Teryx,...
review-taming-the-2017-polaris-rzr-xp-turbo-the-king-of-horsepower-again   It's no secret that big horsepower equals big fun, but how much horsepower is too much horsepower? Is...
2017-general-4-review-you-can-take-a-group-ride  Polaris jumped into the recreational side-by-side market with a very competent machine in the General....
maverick-x3-review-a-maverick-times-at-least-3 The UTV industry is molding itself into a segment of the off-road market that resembles the automotive...
polaris-sportsman-xp-1000-eps-le-review There are so many things beyond just the power of an ATV which make an ATV special, but power seems to...