UTV Reviews

34 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   October 17, 2019   0

  When you think about the word “PRO” what comes to mind? I know what comes to my mind: Professional! It seems obvious that is exactly what Can-Am wants to come to our minds when we hear the name Can-Am Defender PRO. Guess what? That name fits this Defender’s purpose perfectly. The Defender PRO lineup is designed to fill a need

 
0.0 (0)
Air CordeiroAir Cordeiro   October 17, 2019   0

  

 

Life is truly better SXS, and Honda has deployed this marketing slogan to great effectiveness. However, does the Talon 1000X-4 live up to all the hype? It has all of the essentials to make this all-new UTV a great option in the 4-seat sport market, and we are bringing you all of our thoughts after our First Drive. Read more, here! 

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   October 12, 2019   0

  We just got back from riding the new 2020 Kawasaki Teryx KRX 1000, and what a whirlwind trip that turned out to be! I wound up driving the Teryx KRX 1000 for about 3 hours on a closed course with different obstacles to tackle. In retrospect this was a learning experience that left me with more questions than answers because of the limited time we had aboard the Teryx KRX 1000, but it did help me form some initial impressions

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   October 04, 2019   0

  We just got back from riding all of the brand spanking new 2020 Can-Am Defender models including the Defender Pro, Defender 6x6, and Defender Limited. What did we think? Well you can find out what we thought about the Defender Pro and Defender 6x6 by watching our First Ride After Action video below which is filled with 26 minutes of excellent commentary for your viewing pleasure! We walk 

 
0.0 (0)
Air CordeiroAir Cordeiro   August 09, 2019   0

  There is just something about the smell of fresh pine trees. Do you feel the same way?! The smell never gets old, and your body just feels fresher after being amongst the trees for days at a time. I’m not sure if Can-Am was whisking us away to some wild British Columbia, Canada location to clear our minds 

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   June 05, 2019   0

  Since the Honda Talon was released, there have been those that screamed for more power. Well, with the availability of a Jackson Racing Turbo kit that bolts onto any Talon version offering an 80% increase in power, power is not a problem! The Jackson Racing Turbo has been developed side-by-side with Honda

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 23, 2019   0

  I don’t know how Yamaha does it, but its employees manage to keep a lid on machines that haven’t been released. They are stoic and smile when I ask questions about something that might be in the works, but no information or even a hint is acknowledge and certainly not said. When I got the invite to a new machine introduction, I was awash with speculation

 
0.0 (0)
Air CordeiroAir Cordeiro   May 10, 2019   0

   Honda, a company that has roots in so many industries, is finally enjoying the fruits of their labors after developing a side-by-side for the sport segment of the market! As I’m sure all of you will join me in saying, it’s been a long time coming for Big Red to unveil a sport UTV. Frankly, as we look at the big picture and the industry as a whole right now,  it couldn’t have come at a better time.

 
0.0 (0)
Air CordeiroAir Cordeiro   April 26, 2019   0

  The Polaris RZR lineup has enjoyed many great years of success behind a strong lineup of off-road vehicles, and, as a company, Polaris continues to push the technology and development of their new vehicles with each passing year. It was no surprise that 2018 brought about more new models in the RZR lineup, and perhaps the most celebrated model was the XP Turbo S. Recognized as Polaris’ first foray

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   March 08, 2019   0

 Casey and I just got back from the Honda Talon ride event, where we got to ride both the Talon 1000R and Talon 1000X in different environments. We had a great time and certainly learned a lot about the Honda Talon. Honda did good with its first sport side-by-side in the Talon. Below are 

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 13, 2017   0

  One of the absolute best parts of experiencing the outdoors, trail riding, and adventure is including friends and family. Taking more than one passenger along for the ride is becoming more and more of an issue as more and more riders have families that include kids. In a world that seems to revolve around small screens, getting out and seeing 

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   October 17, 2017   0

   I had the opportunity to put some miles on Can-Am's first 50-inch side-by-side the Maverick Trail. We put together this video review highlighting the Maverick Trail's many good points and a couple which could use some tweaking. The Maverick Trail might just be the best 50-inch side-by-side on the market with an incredibly comfortable ride and comfortable interior.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   September 07, 2017   0

   ATV ESCAPE brings you a review video of the brand new 2018 Polaris XP Turbo DYNAMIX Edition including the DYNAMIX Active Suspension technology with RIDE COMMAND that reads the terrain 200 times per second and adjust the dampening of the shocks according to the terrain.  

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 11, 2017   0

The Wolverine, in all of its forms, really falls into the rec-utility segment where the RZR S, Teryx, Commander 800, and Pioneer 700 seem to play. The Wolverine is Yamaha’s primary focused trail side-by-side, and it has the “goods” to excel at exploring the outdoors via trails all across the Country, and, in many ways, is a cut above the competition. I have had a chance to do a full review and video review which you can find below, but I recently had the opportunity to climb aboard the 2017

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   February 01, 2017   0

   It's no secret that big horsepower equals big fun, but how much horsepower is too much horsepower? Is there such a thing as too much horsepower? The UTV industry is clearly under the impression that there is no limit to the horsepower that a vehicle can have, and this has never been more present than now with the horsepower wars continuing between Can-Am and Polaris. 

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   January 18, 2017   0

  Polaris jumped into the recreational side-by-side market with a very competent machine in the General. Released less than a year ago, this machine has sold well for the company and offered Polaris buyers an alternative to the pure sport RZR lineup and the pure utility Ranger lineup. It was no surprise that they were going to release a 4-seat General at some point in the near future, and it just so happens that 2017 was the model year they chose to do it. After garnering a significant amount

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   October 13, 2016   0

 The UTV industry is molding itself into a segment of the off-road market that resembles the automotive industry more and more, especially with each new model year. Manufacturers are unleashing refinements with yearly updates to each vehicle, and have you noticed how intense the horsepower wars are getting? There is some serious one-upmanship going on, and we have been taking notice…  

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 18, 2016   0

  There is a new kid in the ATV/UTV town, and it is one that needs to be reckoned with. Bad Boy Off Road has just released its first in a long line of side-by-sides called the Stampede, and, after riding it for a day in Moab, I found it to be a legit side-by-side that stands side-by-side with the other major players in the market. Bad Boy Off Road is owned by Textron Specialized vehicles, which owns other brands you have heard of including E-Z-GO, Cushman, TUG, McDonald Douglas, and Bad Boy Buggies to name a few. What this means is

 
0.0 (0)
the staffthe staff   May 15, 2016   0

  When Kawasaki asked what we wanted to test this time around, we had work on the mind! That lead to a Mule Pro showing up, and more specifically, a Mule-Pro FXT. This is not our first rodeo with the Mule Pro-FXT and its rather transformative feature. The redesigned Mule Pro was brought into the side-by-side/UTV world in 2015, complete with all new…everything. It has a torquey three-cylinder 812cc engine, a cab that holds 3 or 6 people depending

 
5.0 (1)
the staffthe staff   May 09, 2016   0

 We at ATV ESCAPE recently asked Yamaha for a side-by-side to help with the chores around our Homestead headquarters, since managing land is an ongoing challenge. Some of the chores include working fence lines, cutting trees and brush, moving said wood and brush, towing trailers, and hauling ourselves to the locations that need attention. Yamaha obliged us by sending a Viking EPS that fits the bill for this kind of work.

Glancing at the Viking conjures up images of hauling stuff

 
5.0 (3)
the staffthe staff   January 13, 2016   0

Two-hundred fifty miles and a set of 4-point seat belt harnesses – what is the significance of these items? It just so happens that these are precisely what I needed in order to fully evaluate the capabilities of our 2016 Polaris RZR XP Turbo. Indeed, a full evaluation of such a capable machine takes longer than just a typical 25 miles and a standard seat belt. Just like the other sport UTV’s that have been released lately, the RZR XP Turbo is a machine that gives new life to the mantra, “go anywhere and do anything”. 

 
5.0 (2)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 23, 2015   0

Yamaha’s big announcement about the YXZ1000R on September 1st captured the industry’s attention, imagination, and heart, similar to a kid on Christmas Eve waiting to unwrap the big gift under the tree.  Yamaha has always been a sport company, and the unveiling of the YXZ1000R once again reminded the world that they do “sport” with the best of them. What was clear at the unveiling was the different pure sport experience that was in store for drivers of this new pure sport side-by-side. With a 5-speed manual transmission

 

 
5.0 (3)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   December 17, 2015   0

Can-Am not only likes to play any given segment of the ATV and side-by-side market, but also wants to dominate those segments. Can-Am chooses carefully what segment it wants to dominate next, and now it has set its sights on the UTV-Rec segment, with the introduction of the 2016 Can-Am Defender. Though not the sexiest side of the side-by-side market

 
5.0 (2)
the staffthe staff   December 02, 2015   0

One of the most anticipated side-by-sides ever, we had the opportunity to drive it and do a VIDEO review. What a beast.

 

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   May 06, 2015   0

The 2016 Yamaha Wolverine R-Spec is a different animal, pardon the unintended, yet perfect pun. There is nothing out there quite like it, in its own category, or in any other side-by-side category. The masses have been anxiously awaiting Yamaha’s entrance into the sport/recreation segment of the side-by-side, and with the Wolverine’s unveiling, the wait is over.  Some have squawked at the fact the Wolverine sports a 700 class motor, but having

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   July 03, 2014   0

Kawasaki has been busy…very busy. A mere year after it released a completely new Teryx and Teryx4, Kawasaki takes the cover off a brand new version of none other than its UTV flagship, the Kawasaki Mule, with the introduction of the Mule Pro-FXT. Completely redesigned, the Mule Pro-FXT is not only built to be a workaholic, but also quite the “playaholic” to boot. I just returned from the unveiling of this new Mule with the pomp and circumstance deserved

 
5.0 (4)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   April 15, 2014   0

In a field of many, many side-by-sides and UTVs, with more being added constantly, what can be done to set a machine apart from the ever-growing pack? One way is to take an already proven side-by-side and throw as many goodies as possible at it right off the factory floor. Enter the Can-Am Commander Limited. Can-Am has set this Commander apart by creating a model outfitted with all the aftermarket upgrades owners seem to want to put

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   March 14, 2014   0

Years have passed since I began to dream about hitting the Paiute ATV Trail in Utah, so when Kawasaki invited ATVESCAPE to join them for the introduction of the new and improved 2014 Teryx4, I jumped at the chance to tackle the trail and the machine.  I have heard for years how amazing the riding was along the Paiute Trail, with miles upon miles of trails to explore without a person in sight, and that is my kind of riding. Little did I know what an amazing adventure lay ahead of me.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   February 12, 2014   0

Imagine the opportunity to test a new side-by-side through tight trails, roads, mud holes, hill climbs, and snow, all on one great adventure. All of that and more awaited us, as members of the media had the opportunity to test out the 2014 Teryx from Kawasaki, at the Hatfield McCoy trail system in West Virginia. Any time Kawasaki gives me a shout, I know there is much fun to be had in my near future, so I knew when that email came into my inbox, I was off for an adventure.

 
0.0 (0)
ThejarnoldThejarnold   February 05, 2014   0

Not too long ago, Polaris extended an invitation to ATVESCAPE.com to head out to Big Rock Park in Pennsylvania, to spend some quality time with several of the 2014 models including the RZR XP 1000. Why in the world would we say "no" to that opportunity?  So off we went. We spent the day investigating and riding the new Sportsman 570, Ranger Crew 900 XP, Scrambler 850, Ranger 570, and of course, the RZR XP 1000. To say we have drooled over time aboard that machine would be an understatement.

34 results - showing 1 - 30  
1 2  
 

Featured Articles

2020-kawasaki-teryx-krx-1000-first-ride-impressions-review  We just got back from riding the new 2020 Kawasaki Teryx KRX 1000, and what a whirlwind trip that...
2019-yamaha-wolverine-x2-review-the-2-seat-wolverine-we-have-been-waiting-for  I don’t know how Yamaha does it, but its employees manage to keep a lid on machines that haven’t been...
2019-honda-talon-lineup-we-review-the-talon-1000r-and-1000x   Honda, a company that has roots in so many industries, is finally enjoying the fruits of their labors...
2018-polaris-rzr-xp-turbo-s-review-a-sand-slinging-good-time  The Polaris RZR lineup has enjoyed many great years of success behind a strong lineup of off-road...
2019-suzuki-kingquad-750-review-my-unicorn  I am a big ATV fan. I am a side-by-side fan also, but ATVs have a special place in my heart because it...