Wallowa Whitman National Forest: Unity OHV Trail

 

Site Description: The route crosses sagebrush covered landscape, rough rocky fields, dense and open conifer forests, hiddden meadows, and rustic bridges over wild creeks providing a primitive back country riding experience. The topography varies from gentle to steep rocky slopes that provide a variety of challenges to the rider.
Trail Uses & Sizes: Sixty miles of trail for Class I and III ATVs.
Season: Summer, winter
Fees: None
On-Site Facilities: Staging areas are available for overnight camping at Elk Creek Campground, along the South Fork Burnt River (8 miles west of Unity) and Oregon Campground, 12 miles northwest of Unity on U.S. Highway 26. Blue Spring Summit provides a day use staging area on the Sumpter-Granite Highway.

 

Class I Permit
Defined:


Operator requirements:
 
  • Youth under age 16 must be supervised by an adult over age 18 who is able to provide immediate assistance and direction to the children, and ...
  • Youth and any passengers under age 18 must wear a helmet with the chin strap fastened.
  • Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class I, II, or III ATV.
 
 
 
    
      Permit fee: $10 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50)
      Permit agents: See the latest
permit agent list.

Class 2 Permits
 
Class II Permit
Defined:
 Jeeps traveling on an unmaintained dirt road.

Operator requirements:

  • A valid driver´s license.
  • Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class I, II, or III ATV.
  • Check with law enforcement officials in the area you wish to ride for any special requirements.
  • Uninsured Class II off-road vehicles should contact Department of Motor Vehicles for more information.
      Permit fee: $10 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50)
      Permit agents: See the latest 
permit agent list.

Class 3 Permits
Class III Permit
Defined:

Operator requirements:
 
  • Must be at least 7 years of age
  • Youth under age 16 must be supervised by an adult over age 18 who is able to provide immediate assistance and direction to the children, and ...
  • Youth and any passengers under age 18 must wear a helmet with the chin strap fastened.
  • Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class I, II, or III ATV.
 
 
 
    
      Permit fee: $10 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50)
      Permit agents: See the latest
permit agent list.

Contact
541 446 3351
Telephone
541 446 3351
Land
Public
Wallowa Whitman National Forest
Trail Miles
60
Vehicles
ATV, UTV
Terrain
General Trail, Hills, Pond, Rocks
Skill Level
Easy, Intermediate, Experienced
Amenities
Camping, Pavilion, Pets
Directions
To Get There: Unity
Staging areas are available for overnight camping at Elk Creek Campground, along the South Fork Burnt River (8 miles west of Unity) and Oregon Campground, 12 miles northwest of Unity on U.S. Highway 26. Blue Spring Summit provides a day use staging area on the Sumpter-Granite Highway.
Riding Requirements
Class I Permit
Defined:

For vehicles 50" wide or less, and ...
Dry weight of 800 pounds or less.
Have saddle or seat.
Travels on three or four tires.
Meet the safety equipment standards for off road vehicles.

Operator requirements:


Youth under age 16 must be supervised by an adult over age 18 who is able to provide immediate assistance and direction to the children, and ...
Youth and any passengers under age 18 must wear a helmet with the chin strap fastened.
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class I, II, or III ATV.




Permit fee: $10 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50)
Permit agents: See the latest permit agent list.






Class 2 Permits


Class II Permit
Defined:

For vehicles more than 50" wide, or ...
Dry weight of more than 800 pounds.
Meet the safety equipment standards for off road vehicles.

Operator requirements:


A valid driver´s license.
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class I, II, or III ATV.
Check with law enforcement officials in the area you wish to ride for any special requirements.
Uninsured Class II off-road vehicles should contact Department of Motor Vehicles for more information.
Permit fee: $10 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50)
Permit agents: See the latest permit agent list.






Class 3 Permits

Class III Permit
Defined:

For vehicles riding on two tires
Dry weight of less than 600 pounds.
Meet the safety equipment standards for off road vehicles.

Operator requirements:


Must be at least 7 years of age

Youth under age 16 must be supervised by an adult over age 18 who is able to provide immediate assistance and direction to the children, and ...
Youth and any passengers under age 18 must wear a helmet with the chin strap fastened.
Operators with a suspended or revoked drivers license may not operate any class I, II, or III ATV.




Permit fee: $10 (Most permit agents charge an extra .50)
Permit agents: See the latest permit agent list.


Dealer Brands